CompanyNews & PressInvestor RelationsJobs
News & Press
Press Reports
Press Releases
Press Calendar
Fairs & Exhibitions
Nabaltec AG builds on last year's dynamic performance in 2017, with continued growth Print

• 2017 revenues up 5.9% to EUR 168.6 million despite extraordinary situation in the US;
• EBIT at record high of EUR 18.3 million (2016: EUR 12.2 million);
• Production at US subsidiary Nashtec to resume in 2018;
• Product portfolio in US to be extended with the addition of a new site;
• 2018 revenue and earnings outlook.

Schwandorf, 27 February 2018 – Nabaltec AG posted continued growth in Financial Year 2017 according to preliminary data with consolidated revenues of EUR 168.6 million, up 5.9% from the year before (EUR 159.2 million). Revenues in each quarter were up from the same quarter of the year before. Each of the two product segments, "Functional Fillers" and "Specialty Alumina," contributed to the positive revenue trend. Revenues in the "Functional Fillers" product segment were EUR 112.2 million in 2017, up 2.8% from the year before (EUR 109.1 million). The "Specialty Alumina" product segment generated EUR 56.4 million in revenues in Financial Year 2017, over proportionally up 12.6% from the year before (2016: EUR 50.1 million).
"In a year with many challenges, we were able to demonstrate what we are capable of to a unique degree in 2017," said Johannes Heckmann, CEO of Nabaltec AG. "We posted record highs in revenues and in earnings, with an EBIT margin of 10.8%. And we did this despite losing the revenues contributed by our US subsidiary Nashtec, which came to around EUR 13 million in 2016."
According to preliminary data, Nabaltec AG posted EBIT of EUR 18.3 million in 2017, up from EUR 12.2 million the year before, representing a gain of 50.0%. Earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation and amortization (EBITDA) were up 31.0%, from EUR 22.9 million to EUR 30.0 million. The EBIT margin (EBIT as a percentage of total performance) was 10.8%, compared to 7.7% from the year before.
2018, which will be for Nabaltec a transitional year due to the extraordinary situation in the US, is off to a good start. Following the acquisition of all shares in Nashtec LLC in 2017, construction and technical work is progressing towards realization of the stand-alone solution. Production is expected to resume in the second quarter of 2018. Following the start-up phase in 2018, Nashtec will have a total capacity of 30,000 tons a year. There are also plans to acquire two properties in the US through a US subsidiary which has yet to be formed. Under the current plan, the first stage will be to construct a production facility for refined hydroxides with a capacity of around 30,000 tons per year by mid-2019. A facility for the production of boehmite will follow in a second stage. This project will allow Nabaltec to extend its product portfolio in the US for non-halogenated flame retardant and catalysis applications. The investment volume for the first stage of the project is expected to be around USD 12 million. Nabaltec currently expects the project to have a positive impact on consolidated earnings one year after the facility in the US goes online.
Assuming stable economic performance, Nabaltec expects revenue growth in the mid-single digits in 2018 and an EBIT margin in the high single digits. The start-up phase for the US subsidiary Nashtec will hold down earnings in 2018, which will be a transitional year.

Upcoming Events
Annual Report 2017
Interim Report 1/2018
Annual General Meeting
Interim Report 2/2018
Interim Report 3/2018
Company Movie - Nabaltec AG

UnternehmenNews & PresseInvestor RelationsKarriere
KontaktSitemapHome
News & Presse
Pressemitteilungen
Pressemitteilungen
Pressekalender
Messen
Kontakt
Nabaltec AG knüpft 2017 an die dynamische Entwicklung des Vorjahres an und setzt das Wachstum fort Drucken

• Umsatzsteigerung 2017 um 5,9 % auf 168,6 Mio. Euro trotz Sondersituation in den USA
• Rekord-EBIT in Höhe von 18,3 Mio. Euro (2016: 12,2 Mio. Euro)
• 2018: Neustart der Produktion bei US-Tochter Nashtec
• Ausbau des Produktportfolios in den USA durch weiteren Standort geplant
• Ausblick 2018 für Umsatz und Ertrag

Schwandorf, 27. Februar 2018 – Die Nabaltec AG konnte nach vorläufigen Zahlen im Geschäftsjahr 2017 weiter wachsen und übertraf mit einem Konzernumsatz von 168,6 Mio. Euro den Wert des Vorjahres (159,2 Mio. Euro) um 5,9 %. Dabei lag jedes Quartal für sich genommen über dem jeweiligen Vergleichsquartal des Vorjahres. Zu der positiven Umsatzentwicklung trugen beide Produktsegmente „Funktionale Füllstoffe“ und „Spezialoxide“ bei. Im Produktsegment „Funktionale Füllstoffe“ wurde 2017 ein Umsatz in Höhe von 112,2 Mio. Euro und damit eine Steigerung von 2,8 % gegenüber dem Vorjahr (109,1 Mio. Euro) erzielt. Das Produktsegment „Spezialoxide“ erlöste im Geschäftsjahr 2017 einen Umsatz von 56,4 Mio. Euro und stieg damit überproportional um 12,6 % gegenüber dem Vorjahr (2016: 50,1 Mio. Euro).
„Wir konnten 2017 in einem Jahr mit vielen Herausforderungen unsere Leistungsfähigkeit in besonderem Maße unter Beweis stellen“, so Johannes Heckmann, Vorstandsvorsitzender der Nabaltec AG. „Wir haben unseren Umsatz und unsere Ertragskraft, gemessen an der erreichten EBIT-Marge von 10,8 %, auf Rekordwerte erhöht. Und das, obwohl wir im Vergleich zu 2016 den Wegfall von rund 13 Mio. Euro Umsatzbeitrag unserer US-Tochter Nashtec kompensieren mussten.“
Nach vorläufigen Zahlen erzielte die Nabaltec AG 2017 ein operatives Ergebnis (EBIT) von 18,3 Mio. Euro nach 12,2 Mio. Euro im Vorjahr. Dies entspricht einem Anstieg von 50,0 %. Das Ergebnis vor Zinsen, Steuern und Abschreibungen (EBITDA) stieg um 31,0 % von 22,9 Mio. Euro auf 30,0 Mio. Euro. Die EBIT-Marge (bezogen auf die Gesamtleistung) betrug 10,8 %, nach 7,7 % im Vorjahr.
Der Start in das Jahr 2018, das aufgrund der Sondersituation in den USA für die Nabaltec ein Übergangsjahr sein wird, verlief positiv. Nach der vollständigen Übernahme der Nashtec LLC 2017 schreiten auch die baulichen und technischen Arbeiten zur Realisierung der Stand-alone-Lösung voran. Die Wiederaufnahme der Produktion wird voraussichtlich im zweiten Quartal 2018 erfolgen. Nach der Anlaufphase 2018 wird Nashtec über eine Gesamtkapazität von 30.000 Tonnen pro Jahr verfügen. Darüber hinaus ist geplant, über eine noch zu gründende US-Tochtergesellschaft zwei Grundstücke in den USA zu erwerben. In einem ersten Schritt soll nach derzeitiger Planung bis Mitte 2019 eine Produktionsanlage für veredelte Hydroxide mit einer Kapazität von ca. 30.000 Tonnen pro Jahr errichtet werden. In einem zweiten Schritt soll eine Anlage zur Herstellung von Böhmit folgen. Durch diese Vorhaben kann die Nabaltec ihr Produktportfolio in den USA für die Anwendungen halogenfreier Flammschutz und Katalyse erweitern. Das Investitionsvolumen wird sich in der ersten Ausbaustufe voraussichtlich auf ca. 12 Mio. USD belaufen. Nach derzeitiger Planung rechnet Nabaltec ein Jahr nach erfolgter Inbetriebnahme des Werkes in den USA mit einem positiven Effekt auf das Konzernergebnis.
Unter Berücksichtigung einer stabilen konjunkturellen Entwicklung erwartet Nabaltec für das Jahr 2018 ein Umsatzwachstum im mittleren einstelligen Prozentbereich. Für das operative Ergebnis (EBIT) prognostiziert das Unternehmen für 2018 eine Marge im oberen einstelligen Prozentbereich. Ergebnisdämpfend wird sich die Anfahrphase der US-Tochter Nashtec im Übergangsjahr 2018 auswirken.

 
Aktuelle Termine
30.04.2018
Geschäftsbericht 2017
14.05.2018
Frühjahrskonferenz, Frankfurt
24.05.2018
Quartalsbericht 1/2018
26.06.2018
Hauptversammlung
23.08.2018
Quartalsbericht 2/2018
27.11.2018
Quartalsbericht 3/2018
Unternehmensfilm - Nabaltec AG